A Dog’s Life In Tel Aviv

I woke up this morning and felt it’s time for a guest post here on my blog. And for this purpose I’ve chosen someone very special.

I’ve known this guy for three years now, and consider him to be not only my best friend, but an important part of my family. When we were introduced to each other, it was love at first sight. I remember him stepping in to our apartment one day. He was only supposed to stay there temporarily, but when he looked at me with those big brown eyes, I just knew; this was it, it was meant to be us. Within a matter of moments, I was no longer able to see my life without him by my side.

Because of him being the wonderful soul that he is, it wouldn’t be fair of me to keep him all to myself. His greatness deserves to be shared with the world. Therefore, I here present to you, a few words from Simba, my dog.

SAMSUNG CSC

Tel Aviv’s Dog Beach

My name is Simba. I was given that name in a rush. My mommy sometimes tells me, that had she known from the beginning that I would be staying with her permanently, she would have given me a more original name. I’m not sure what she means by that, I always liked my name.

My childhood was a bit turbulent. Me and my siblings were born in an unsafe place with nobody to care for us. I’m not sure what happened to my mother or my siblings, but I haven’t seen them since I was very young.

Some people brought me to a  shelter in Tel Aviv, where they had a lot of other dogs who, just like me, were looking for somewhere to live. I understood from the others that it’s hard to find a home these days, and sometimes you have to wait for a long time before something comes up.

They said I was too young to stay with the other dogs in the shelter, so they sent me home to a human where I stayed for a bit, while they where looking for a better place for me. After a week or two, I was moved again, to another human, but also this was supposed to be temporary.

When I first arrived to the new place I was nervous. All the moving around made me stressed. Just when I started to feel at home somewhere, I had to move again.

I was left alone with these two new people, whom I didn’t know. And as if that wasn’t enough, there was also this really scary looking cat, sitting and starring at me with big suspicious eyes. It did not feel safe.

But the cat wasn’t all that bad in the end. And the humans were great.

The humans said that they hadn’t been planning on keeping me, that they had been thinking about a smaller dog – I still don’t know what was wrong with my size – but that they started to change their minds.

I expressed my hopefullness to the cat. She saw my excitement, but she only gave me a look of indifference. I think she was happy for me on the inside.

2013-12-21 00.34.27

527710_10151228068228659_1134236578_nEventually, it was decided that I would stay for good. I was officially adopted by my new mommy and daddy, and I couldn’t be happier.

That’s how it all started, three years ago, when I was just a little puppy. But now, I’m all grown up, and living the good life in Tel Aviv.

I really like it here in Tel Aviv. I get to go everywhere with my humans. We go a lot to the beach, where I get to swim in the sea and play in the sand. I love sand. Sometimes I play with the other dogs there, but mostly I like to just hang with my humans. Unless my best dog friend is there too, then I play with her.

SAMSUNG CSC

Tel Aviv’s Dog Beach

Sometimes we go to bars, where my humans drink beer. I don’t get to taste any. They say it’s because it’s not good for me and I won’t like it. I’m not sure how they know that if I’ve never tried.

2014-03-14 16.18.01-2We also walk around a lot in the city. Sometimes we stop in cafés for coffee. I’m pretty sure I don’t like coffee, so I don’t bother to be upset over not getting any. The people usually give me water instead. I’m okay with that.

We also go a lot to the park. There are always many other dogs in the park, and sometimes I say Hi to them, and if I meet someone nice I play a bit. But mostly I prefer to just play with my humans, I like them the most.

We see a lot of cats out on the streets when we walk. I don’t really like them. They are much scarier than our cat at home. I always try to pass by them from a distance, just to be on the safe side.

SAMSUNG CSC

HaYarkon Park

SAMSUNG CSC

Ben Gurion Boulavard

SAMSUNG CSC

Gan HaIr

SAMSUNG CSC

Rabin Square

Sometimes we also go out of the city and travel around in Israel with the car. I don’t like the car very much, because it makes me feel sick. But if I can hang my head out the window it’s kind of okay.

We go camping, and hiking, and do other fun stuff. The cat never gets to come on those things, so I miss her a bit when we are away.

I’m not very good with keeping track of time, so sometimes I can’t really tell if it’s been an hour or a day when we are out, so when I come home I always get excited, just in case it has actually been a long time. The cat doesn’t like when I get excited, so I try to behave, but sometimes I just can’t help myself.

I think she likes me in her own way. When I stand still.

2013-11-01 10.50.24I hear a lot of people say that Tel Aviv is a very dog friendly city, where a lot has been done to make the environment suitable for dogs and their humans. As a dog, I have to say I agree with that. Although, I can’t understand why any city would not want to be dog friendly.

Author: Simba

Photographer: Angelika Nocky

Tayelet, Tel Aviv. Photo by Angelika Nocky

