Let’s “Dance For Peace”!

A few weeks ago, I saw an invitation among my Facebook notifications to this event called Dance For Peace. A party with the aim to dance for peace in the Middle East. Finally, I thought, a peace approach in the right spirit!

10686684_947360518615614_2036743861647011965_n

Like George Carlin said; “Fighting for peace, is like fucking for virginity”. And I couldn’t agree more. So when fighting won’t do the job, maybe dancing will.

I accepted the invitation. I never say no to dancing, and dancing for a good cause just makes it even more enjoyable. So tomorrow night, the night before Israel’s Election Day, I will be dancing for peace in the Middle East. I hope this party can send a message of hope and love to those willing and able (and in need) to hear it.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not expecting that over night there will be an end to all conflicts and we will all live in peace, just because of one party. Even if the people of Israel somehow manages to have some kind of affect on the new Israeli government, it takes more than one to have a conflict, and more than one to create peace. And although a party might be nothing but one small drop in the ocean, every drop that falls creates circles on the water, and if the universe allows, maybe one day one of those circles will reach the right people.

I quote John Lennon, as I can’t say it better myself:

Imagine all the people living life in peace
You may say I’m a dreamer,
but I’m not the only one

According to the organizers, it will be a global peace party, organized in different locations around the world. Here in Israel we will be dancing by the Dead Sea, all through the night and in to the sunrise. And at the same time people will also be dancing in places like Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Iran, the Palestinian Authority, Turkey, Europe, USA, Canada, Australia, and South America. The idea, as they say, is to make it a teleprocessed party, where with the help of technology we will be able to see each other live on big screens, dancing and celebrating together around the world in the spirit of peace. If you don’t have the opportunity to join one of the parties, you should be able to see the live broadcast here, and that way still be a part of it.

With my dancing shoes on, and a vision of peace in my heart, I am ready to party! See you there!

